Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

About Us

Where we Are

Approximately 400 Jesuits belong to the USA Central and Southern (UCS) Province and serve the states of:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Southern Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • Texas
  • Tennessee
  • Oklahoma

The province also serves the Central American country of Belize and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

View a map of our apostolates.  

The province was formed when the New Orleans Province and the Missouri Province united on July 31, 2014. On Dec. 3, 2014, the Jesuits in Puerto Rico became part of the province.

Formal Name

U.S. Central and Southern Province, Society of Jesus
Jesuits USA Central and Southern Province


Father Thomas P. Greene, SJ, is the second provincial superior of the UCS Province.

Apostolates – Our Ministries

Six institutions of higher education:

Twelve secondary schools:

Pre-secondary education

Loyola Academy in St. Louis, as well as several parish schools.

Retreats and Spirituality Centers

The core spirituality that began with the personal experience of St. Ignatius’s conversion continues at seven retreat houses and spirituality centers that offer Ignatian retreats and training in Ignatian Spirituality:


Jesuit parishes are called to evangelize and reveal the love of God to people who hunger for it. They do more than offer the sacraments to those who come to them. Instead, they reach out beyond parish walls to the fallen away, spiritual seekers, people on the margins.

Our Office

Our province office is located in St. Louis’ Central West End neighborhood. While our provincial and much of his staff work here, we have Jesuit and lay colleagues in every corner of our province.